menu

Department of French

People menu

People

Elza Adamowicz

Professor Emerita of French Literature and Visual Culture
e.adamowicz@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Dada and Surrealist art, literature and film; text-image relations in 20th century French art and literature; European modernism

Adrian Armstrong

Centenary Professor of French / Head of School (2014-17)
Room : Arts One 209A
+44 (0)20 7882 8316
a.armstrong@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval French literature, book form, scholarly editing

Sharon Bernor

Programme Administrator (Postgraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8332
s.j.bernor@qmul.ac.uk

Julie Betancourt Ricci

French Language Instructor
Room : Arts One 140A
+44 (0)20 7882 8334
j.betancourtricci@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Classroom language teaching, spoken and written language in general, its comprehension and production, French for specific purposes

Solenne Brou

Affiliated to French
Room : One 1.40A
0207 882 2990
s.brou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Plurilinguism at home and in the classroom, French phonetics, E-learning, the use of new technologies and media in language classes and cultural exchanges.

Nepa Brownsmith

Resources Manager
Room : Bancroft Building 120a
+44 (0)20 7882 2678
n.brownsmith@qmul.ac.uk

Laetitia Calabrese

French Language Instructor
Room : Arts One 140.A
+44 (0)20 7882 2861
l.calabrese@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : English linguistics: English phonetics, regional and social varieties of spoken English, intonation, rhythm, pronunciation. Welsh language. French Linguistics: French phonetics, regional and social varieties of spoken French.

Edward Donovan

Administrator, Foundation Programmes
Room : Bancroft Building 124
+44 (0)20 7882 2829
e.donovan@qmul.ac.uk

Jennifer Dupuy

French Language Assistant
Room : Arts One 140A
+44 (0)20 7882 2990
j.dupuy@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Interactive teaching, differentiated instruction, technology in the classroom and E-learning, teaching resources, French phonetics, the different varieties of spoken French, interculturalism.

Ian Ericson

External Liaison Manager
Room : F.B. 1.24
ext. 8137
i.ericson@qmul.ac.uk

Jill Evans

Head of Administration
Room : Arts One 1.03
+44 (0)20 7882 8300
j.k.evans@qmul.ac.uk

Elodie Galiana

Lectrice
Room : Arts One 1.40A
e.galiana@qmul.ac.uk

Spela Gruden

Programme Administrator (In-Sessional and Pre-Sessional Programmes)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 (0)20 7882 2827
s.gruden@qmul.ac.uk

Birgitta Hall

Year Abroad Development Manager
Room : Arts One 108
+44 (0)20 7882 5909
b.y.hall@qmul.ac.uk

Heather Heiner

Exams and Assessment Officer (Postgraduate & Foundation Programmes)
Room : Bancroft 124
+44 20 7882 6640
h.heiner@qmul.ac.uk

Marian Hobson

Professor Emerita of French
01223 840673
hobson@mjeanneret.com

Research interests : Jacques Derrida, Diderot, Rousseau and the Enlightenment

Edward Hughes

Associate Director of Graduate Studies (French)
Room : Arts One 1.39
+44 (0)20 7882 8308
e.j.hughes@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Modern French literature and its socio-political contextualisation, French-Algerian and Francophone Algerian literature

Anna Kemp

Lecturer in French
Room : Arts One 209B
+44 (0)20 7882 8288
a.kemp@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Twentieth and twenty-first century French and Francophone writing. Feminist literary criticism. Art and writing by women. Colonial and postcolonial writing by women. Life-writing. OuLiPo.

Will McMorran

Senior Lecturer In French & Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 115
+44 (0) 20 7882 8315
w.s.mcmorran@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative Literature, the Marquis de Sade, Fiction and Ethics, Cognitive Approaches to Reading Fiction

Leigh Oakes

Reader in French and Linguistics / Head of the French Department
Room : Arts One 1.05A
+44 (0)20 7882 8319
l.oakes@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Language and national identity in France, Qu├ębec and Sweden; language policy and planning; language attitudes; regional languages in France; variation in French; language in the European Union; language and globalisation.

Elsa Petit

French Language Studies Co-ordinator, Year Abroad Co-ordinator, Language Development Grant Co-ordinator for French, SLLF Year Abroad Committee Chair, SSLC Chair for French
Room : Arts One 142
+44 (0)20 7882 2859
e.petit@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, language & gender/culture/identity, spoken language, the ethnography of communication, French linguistics, 2nd language acquisition, the relationships between Language teaching/learning & the new media & technologies, E-learning

Julia Rollitt

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One, room 1.08
+44 20 7882 8331
j.m.rollitt@qmul.ac.uk

Lisa Stubbings

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8314
l.stubbings@qmul.ac.uk

Hazel Tsoi-Wiles

Resources Administrator
Room : 1.24 Bancroft Building
ext. 6636
h.tsoi-wiles@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top